Free Webinar: Reducing Inequities in Breast Cancer Part Two: Why Experience Matters

In the wake of the U.S. Supreme Court’s historic decision to uphold the Affordable Care Act, we must not ignore the remaining barriers to high quality healthcare that exist even after a woman obtains access to care.

Join us for Part Two* in this series of important webinars on inequities in breast cancer. Our focus will be how race-related barriers like language, culture, discrimination and a history of mistrust of the medical system radically inform healthcare experiences and serve as a contributor to breast cancer inequities.

For your convenience, we are offering the webinar at two different times. Click on the links below to register for the time and day that works for you.

Register for Wednesday August 29th at 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Register for Thursday August 30th at 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

BCAction will be joined by two distinguished co-presenters for this webinar: Dr. Galen Joseph, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Anthropology, History & Social Medicine & the Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of California, San Francisco, & Maria Caprio, Director of The Shanti Project Breast Cancer Program.

This webinar will specifically examine:

  • The barriers women continue to face after access to healthcare is obtained
  • The effects of low health literacy, language barriers and culture in communicating breast cancer genetic information 
  • The experiences of patients at a non-profit serving women’s practical and emotional needs, and
  • What you can do to work for health equity

Join us on Wednesday August 29th at 10am PDT/1pm EDT and Thursday August 30th at 3pm PDT/6pm EDT for this free one-hour webinar to learn what you can do to help achieve health equity. Join us in our demands for the highest level of health – for everyone!

This entry was posted in BCA Action Alerts, BCA Events, BCA News, E-Alerts.