Free Webinar: The Ecology of Breast Cancer with Ted Schettler, MD, MPH

Sahru KeiserBy Sahru Keiser, BCAction Education and Mobilization Coordinator

We are thrilled to host our next webinar with Ted Schettler, MD, MPH. Dr. Schettler is a leading voice in understanding how we interact with our environment and the impact it has on our health. He joins us to talk about his new (free) book The Ecology of Breast Cancer: The Promise of Prevention and the Hope for Healing. 

Breast cancer is a public health issue as well as a social justice issue. To fully understand the complex health inequities in breast cancer, we need to understand and address the ecology of breast cancer. Ted’s book is relevant to this issue because he looks at breast cancer as a “design problem” arguing that this disease is “not only a disease of abnormal cells but also of communities that we create and live in.”


Register for Tuesday, February 11th 1pm-2pm PST/4pm-5pm EST

OR

Register for Wednesday February 19th 10am-11am PST/1pm-2pm

Dr. Schettler’s book examines the breast cancer epidemic through an eco-social framework, recognizing the ways that family, community, and societal experiences shape the health of individuals and populations. He writes: “Breast cancer is profoundly a public health concern, requiring a public health response. Thinking about this as an ecological challenge helps us identify multi-level interventions that will reduce breast cancer risk and improve outcomes after diagnosis.”

RSVP for the free webinar today:  Tuesday, February 11th 1pm-2pm PST/4pm-5pm EST and Wednesday February 19th 10am-11am PST/1pm-2pm EST.

For your convenience, we are offering the webinar at two different times. Click on the links above to register for the time and day that works for you.

Looking forward to “seeing” you there!

This entry was posted in BCA Events, BCA News, E-Alerts.